Submissions

Below, you will find information on any submission windows we currently have open, in addition to full details on how to submit. Please enjoy.

Submit to Night Terror Novels Publishing

On this page, you can find details regarding any and all submission windows we currently have open, be it for anthologies of poetry, flash fiction and short stories, or for novelettes, novellas and novels. Keep an eye on this page for all future projects and publications …


Flash Fiction Open Calls

Ongoing: The Theatre Phantasmagoria

Submissions Open: The first day of each month.

Submissions Close: The last day of each month.

JANUARY’S THEME:

FireworksStories about New Year’s resolutions, fresh starts, or new beginnings. NOW CLOSED.

FEBRUARY’S THEME:

My Bloody ValentineStories about Valentine’s Day or other twisted tales of romance. NOW CLOSED.

MARCH’S THEME:

The Great UnknownStories about the mysterious and the otherworldly; cosmic and eldritch horror of an aquatic nature, or science-fiction. NOW CLOSED.

APRIL’S THEME:

A Comedy of TerrorsStories about April Fool’s, pranks gone wrong, or other flavours of horror-comedy. NOW CLOSED.

MAY’S THEME:

Burning EffigiesStories about cults and sects, folk horror, paganism, or rituals. NOW CLOSED.

JUNE’S THEME:

Earth SongStories of animal or ecological-themed horror, or of Mother Nature’s wrath, in support of World Environment Day. NOW CLOSED.

JULY’S THEME:

Sundown in a Tumbleweed TownStories about the Old West; also other untamed frontiers. NOW CLOSED.

AUGUST’S THEME:

Innocence LostStories about the summertime; coming-of-age or young adult narratives. NOW CLOSED.

SEPTEMBER’S THEME:

Chem Trails, Crop Circles, & CryptidsStories about aliens and extraterrestrials, UFOs, or tales inspired by other conspiracy and fringe theories, urban legends, and folklore. NOW CLOSED.

OCTOBER’S THEME:

Something WickedStories about autumn, Halloween, or witchcraft. NOW CLOSED.

NOVEMBER’S THEME:

ThanksKilling FeastsStories about cannibalism, food, or gluttony. OPEN FOR SUBMISSIONS HERE!

DECEMBER’S THEME:

Hear the Slay Bells RingStories about Christmas or set during wintertime. OPEN FOR SUBMISSIONS 1st November, 2022!

Night Terror Novels Publishing is now accepting ongoing flash fiction submissions to be published as part of a new series titled The Theatre Phantasmagoria. More details on the current month’s theme, including the full guidelines on how to submit your story, can be found here, and see the gallery below for past entries in the series, featuring original flash fiction from Mia Dalia, Paul Wilson, Angela Sylvaine, Yvonne Lang, Mark Robinson, James Van Pelt, D. Matthew Urban, Ali Seay, Alex Ebenstein, Nikki R. Leigh, Andrew Jackson, Safia Mlani, Michael H. Hanson, Matt Bliss, Megan Kiekel Anderson, Andrew Gehlsen, Samuel M. Hallam, J. L. Royce, Zary Fekete, David Burchell, Brandon Applegate, Darren Todd, Cormack Baldwin, Hadassah Shiradski, Monte Lin, Kacey Rayburn, Elle Vigilante, Brett Tharp, Sean Cahillane, A. R. Frederiksen, Lucy Zhang, Christopher Robertson, Eric Farrell, Miguel Gonçalves, Drew Huff, Marisca Pichette, Nat Reiher, and Alexander Hay …


Anthology Open Calls

Nerve-Janglers: Thirteen Tales of Terror

Submissions Open: 1st November, 2021.

Submissions Close: NOW CLOSED.

Night Terror Novels Publishing is now accepting submissions for our second anthology and first young adult anthology, titled Nerve-Janglers: Thirteen Tales of Terror, to be published as part of a new and ongoing teen-grade young adult anthology series in the vein of Fear Street and Point Horror, titled Nerve-Janglers. More details, including the full guidelines on how to submit your story, can be found here


Charity Anthology: There Used to Be a House Here

J. D. Keown, ed.

Submissions Open: 1st December, 2021.

Submissions Close: NOW CLOSED.

Night Terror Novels Publishing is now accepting submissions for our third anthology and first charity anthology, titled There Used to Be a House Here. 100% of proceeds from the sale of this anthology will be going directly to the UK-based charity, Shelter. Shelter is a charity that does terrific work across England and Scotland to help combat poor housing conditions and homelessness. More details, including the full guidelines on how to submit your story, can be found here


These Haunted Highlands

J. D. Keown, ed.

Submissions Open: TBD.

Submissions Close: TBD.

Night Terror Novels Publishing will soon be accepting submissions for our fourth anthology, titled These Haunted Highlands. More details, including the full guidelines on how to submit your story, will be coming in the near future …


Standalone Open Calls

Nightmarish Novelettes Book Series

Submissions Open: 1st January, 2022.

Submissions Close: ONGOING.

Night Terror Novels Publishing is now accepting novelette-length (around 15,000 to 25,000 words, or thereabouts) submissions to be published as part of a new and ongoing book series, titled Nightmarish Novelettes. More details, including the full guidelines on how to submit your story, can be found here


Nerve-Janglers Book Series

Submissions Open: TBD.

Submissions Close: TBD.

Night Terror Novels Publishing will soon be accepting novella-length (around 25,000 to 50,000 words, or thereabouts) submissions to be published as part of a new and ongoing teen-grade young adult book series in the vein of Fear Street and Point Horror, titled Nerve-Janglers. More details, including the full guidelines on how to submit your story, will be coming in the near future …


Review Requests

Currently Closed to Digital ARCs.

Please note that whenever we are open for review requests, we are only seeking horror/thriller stories at this moment in time.

We are occasionally open to review requests, so if you have a novel, novella, novelette or even just a short story, and would like a review feature on this site, please don’t hesitate to get in contact with us via our email address, nightterrornovels@gmail.com. We post our reviews to relevant Amazon and goodreads pages, provided they are available, in addition to usually doing a feature post on both of our Instagram pages, @jdkauthor and @nightterrornovels.

Night Terror Novels is also an approved reviewer on Reedsy Discovery. If you wish, you can request reviews through there too by following this link: https://reedsy.com/discovery/user/night-terror-novels/submissions.


Follow Night Terror Novels

Get the latest content from us delivered bound, bloodied, and screaming directly to your inbox. Complete the covenant and join the cabal. Do it. Do it now.

Join 1,253 other followers

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.